Ashley Does: What I want you to know about how I do business

I am an extroverted introvert.

I know, it sounds ridiculous. I didn’t even know it was a real thing until the internet told me it was – so obviously it’s true.

I love to talk to people…once I know them a little.

I love going to social events…once I’m out of the house.

I enjoy helping people and giving advice and being a confidant…if someone asks me for help or advice.

My girl time is invaluable…but I also need my alone time.

A LOT of it.

This has made my journey in sales….interesting. Slow. Uncomfortable.

And so, so rewarding!

Understanding The EI Businesswoman

She will talk your ear off about her excitement, her business, and her goals. But first, she will fumble through how to bring up the subject – or even worse, trying to answer a question! 

I can’t tell you how many times I have been confronted at a store or park about my bags and I’m just like:

“Oh, yes, purses. They are pretty. Would you like a catalog?”

FAIL.

When it comes up naturally though, it’s a beautiful thing. Eloquent, even. I remind myself that I am working, I am doing something that puts food on the table for my kids just like when I worked as a cashier, the only difference is that I am now working for myself instead of a Big Box Store. That is when conversation flows, information is shared, and questions are answered.

She will never, ever pressure you for anything. To host a party, to buy a product, to join a team. She is too afraid of rejection to be pushy – which makes her the type of businesswoman you want to do business with. 

I never realized that fear of rejection would be a good thing! I am seeing now in this sales journey how having no fear is great for your pocketbook, but not so great for relationships. I can’t tell you how many times I have had to tell a friend that I can’t host a party for her, or buy something, or join her team – and then felt so fundamentally guilty about it.

When I went looking for a businesses to join, I started asking questions and doing research. I reached out to people I knew were equally not pushy and asked them if I could host, buy, and join with them. Because that’s how I knew I would run my businesses: by offering value and letting the people come to me.

So far, so good.

She will be so completely appreciative of your business and relationship but have no idea how to show or tell you that. Which means you may not hear from her right away after you’ve had a business interaction. That doesn’t mean she’s ignoring you! She simply doesn’t want to be a nuisance.

The fortune is in the follow up – or so they say. But when you are an EI, it’s hard to know how or when to follow up! My husband is an amazing salesman and tells me all the time about how he follows up with customers, remembers all of their information and details, and is sure to offer them as much customer service as he can.

Then there’s me sitting over here, wanting to offer amazing customer service but also not wanting to seem like the only reason we’re talking is because of your recent purchase. It’s SO DUMB, y’all, but it’s the truth! So yeah, I probably do wait too long to follow up but please, please don’t take that as negligence. And know that it’s something I am working on because I truly care about your experience with my business and your product!

What you really need to know is that the EI Businesswoman has a lot of passion, a lot of value to share, and a lot of love for you as her customer and friend. And she’s probably plotting her next Netflix binge session as soon as the party is over. Because that is how she finds balance!

Leave a Reply

