Ashley Does: Chocolate Milk Shake For Breakfast!

Chocolate Milk Shakes have their own Day.

Did you know that?!

How have I lived this long without knowing about National Chocolate Milk Shake Day?

I feel kind of cheated. 

Luckily, I have a recipe for just such an occasion, and I wanted to share it with y’all because I feel like we could all use a little treat today.

This is NOT your typical chocolate ice cream milk shake recipe – this is my Breakfast Milk Shake recipe! This is one way I trick my kids into eating veggies, and get them to have breakfast on busy school days. They have also had this as a dessert thinking they were getting ice cream – bwahahahaha!

Does tricking them make me a terrible mom? Sure. But the chocolate part makes me a good one so it evens out in the end.

What you’ll need:

-A blender
-Milk – whatever kind you drink. I like almond milk just because it’s thicker than cow’s milk, and I have used coconut milk in the past as well with excellent results.  You’ll need 6 ounces per shake.
-Ice – I fill up whatever glass I’ll be using to drink out of and add that to the blender.
-Fresh or frozen leafy green vegetables – I like spinach and/or kale. A few hand fulls of fresh or about 1/2 cup of frozen is plenty.
-Chocolate! At breakfast, I use gluten free protein powder; when this is a dessert I’ll usually use chocolate syrup or powder. (Depending on your pallet, you could also use some cocoa powder!)

Assemble:

Pour milk into the blender. Top with spinach/kale, then add chocolate and fill with ice. Blend till smooth and enjoy! (Yes, adding the ice last is important. I’ve found that if I add the heavier ingredients last, everything blends together better in the end.)

You can add all kinds of great goodies into this basic recipe! Like peanut butter? Powdered peanut butter is one of my favorite shake additives – and it comes in a chocolate version to make it taste like a Reese’s peanut butter cup! Throw in berries, banana, flax seed…whatever you like. It’s your treat!

20160912_134012

Till next time!
-Ashley

Leave a Reply

