Ashley Does: How Pantone’s Color Of The Year Is Shaping My 2017

Having been a tomboy for much of my life, I had no idea Pantone was a thing. Or that they decided the hot colors of the year.

Now that I have embraced my inner girly girl and all things pretty, I’m in love with the Pantone website!

This year’s color, Greenery, is right up my alley. It’s beautifully natural, as well as neutral, and will work really well with the colors I already have in my life.

For me, 2017 is all about getting organized and getting rid of the things that distract me so I can really focus on myself, my business, and my family. These gorgeous Pantone palettes are helping me achieve these goals – if it’s pretty, I’m way more likely to follow through!

I’ve been having a lot of fun playing around with different palettes, trying to figure out which to use in my house and which in my wardrobe.

And of course, which to use to accessorize life!

pantonescolor-pallete2017-2

The best color in the world is the one that looks best on you. – Coco Chanel

On the Pantone  website, there are several different palettes that coordinate with Greenery to work with. I adore how they all seem to be so based in nature; I took that idea and ran with it in my design boards!

Why design boards? For one, they are gorgeous. I am a very visual person and I love anything that coordinates as well as a design board! Secondly, I love having lots of color options at my fingertips, it’s like a cheat sheet of what works and what doesn’t. And of course, they are ridiculously easy to make and become a bit addicting! (I’ll have instructions on how to make your own design boards at the end of this post.)

  • Around The House

    I have discovered some things about myself as I have entered my thirties and my kids have gotten a bit older. I actually have a color preference when it comes to how my walls are painted and how my house is decorated.

    I know, I’m shocked, too!
    I have discovered that soft neutrals and bold accents make my heart happy. Grey and cream walls with dark wood floors, a charcoal couch with bright accent pillows, and area rugs that carefully weave together the bold and the muted are all right up my alley.

    Joe and I are in the midst of designing and saving for Dream Home. We know it’s a few years off yet, but we both agree on this color palette because we hope it will give our home the feeling of a calm sunset – and with 3 kids at home, we can use all the calming influence we can get!

    pantonepallete3

  • Wardrobe
    When I started playing around with the Pantone Greenery, I started to realize something. It truly worked with every season. Since I have been on a fitness journey and will need an entire new wardrobe very soon, I decided to create some design boards for Spring, Summer, and Fall (for me, my Winter wardrobe is always a continuation of Fall, with some layers added!).

    I find that I have always been one to wear mostly neutrals, and truly mostly blue and black. I’m challenging myself this year to incorporate more color into my wardrobe and take some risks! I am really excited to get shopping with these inspirational palettes at my fingertips.

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

     

  • Accessorize

    Whether we’re talking accessorizing the house or my outfit, I love accessories. I love organizing my home with coordinating pieces. I love that my handbag matches my shopping bags. I love that when I open a closet, things are stored in color coded bins! (Be still my nerd heart!)

    Working for a company that specializes in bags and organization doesn’t exactly hurt this part of my life! The Spring/Summer 2017 line is coming out in just a few short weeks, and I’m already over the moon with the sneak peek we’ve been given! I absolutely can’t wait to start accessorizing my home, office, and wardrobe with these gorgeously soft and feminine colors and products!

    pantonepallete4-1
    Initials, Inc Spring/Summer 2017 Starter Kit!

    The more I think about it, the more I think this would also be a gorgeous palette for a nursery or little girl’s room…Just sayin’!

I’d love to see you play around with your own Pantone inspired design boards! Get creative and post what you come up with on my Facebook Page!

Design board how-to:
1. Find a digital image you love. Save it to your computer. (Please use stock photos or your own – saving someone else’s work without permission, even for your own personal use, is stealing!)
2. Get thee to Canva.com! It’s a fantastic website that makes designing graphics a breeze!
3. Open a new project.
4. Upload your image.
5. Insert your picture to your project.
6. Add a few blank shapes under “elements.” As many as you’d like, I stuck with five.
7. Using a color catcher or eyedropper tool, pull colors from your photo and use the color code (a combination of letters and numbers) to fill in the blank shapes. Play around until you’re happy with your design!

Canva makes all of this really easy and before you know it, you’ll have a ton of design boards that you’re just dying to use!

I can’t wait to see what you come up with! Happy designing!
-Ashley

Leave a Reply

