Ashley Does: Spaghetti Squash and Shrimp in a Lemon-Butter Sauce…YUM!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted about food.

Mostly because Joe and I have started a new lifestyle and I don’t cook the way I used to anymore. I don’t bake much and our meals look different to be sure.

It took some serious retraining since the New Way is so counter-intuitive to the Old Way.

It’s been almost four months and I am used to it now. I’m also two pants sizes smaller, heartburn free, migraine free, and feeling overall healthier. So it has definitely been worth it!

I bet you’re asking me, “Ashley, what are you doing?”

I will tell you, but you must prepare yourself first. Prepare your heart for something that you are not expecting.

Are you ready?

ashleydoesblogposh2

Julia Child is my girl. I love this mindset so much!

I’m not afraid of butter, or cream, or bacon fat, or fat in general anymore. In fact, fat is my life now – I love me some fat!

We’ve jumped on the Ketogenic train and it’s been life changing.

There’s a lot of misconceptions about Keto flying around out there. And I am not a doctor or an expert, just a girl drinking Bullet Proof Coffee in the morning and eating Fathead Pizza at night. If you’re interested in learning more about the science, I’ll let the experts explain. Or we can meet for coffee and I’ll talk your ear off. Because, as the saying goes, “How can you tell if someone’s gone Keto? Don’t worry, they’ll tell you.” It’s so true folks, and I apologize in advance – though for real, I’m totally #sorrynotsorry.

As for me (and my house), we’re loving it. And eating amazing food. Today I’m sharing with you one of my favorite, quick, go-to meals because you, too, deserve sanity-saving delicious dinners! So let’s get started, shall we?

Spaghetti Squash with Lemon-Butter Shrimp (Adapted from Martha’s recipe)
Serves 4

Yeah, it’s as good as it sounds. 

Ingredients:

3-5 pound spaghetti squash
1 lb raw, deveined, peeled shrimp
2 TB extra virgin olive oil, separated
salt to taste (I like kosher or Himalayan pink)
pepper to taste
1 tsp minced garlic
1 TB butter
1 lemon – about 1 TB juice and the rest cut into wedges
2 tsp capers
6 pieces of cooked, crumbled bacon (optional, but I totally put it in ours!)

picsart_01-10-10-29-211

Directions:

  • Preheat your oven to 375 Fahrenheit.
  • Cut the squash in half lengthwise and scoop out the seeds. Drizzle olive oil all over the fleshy part and sprinkle with salt. Place on a baking sheet, flesh side down, and add about 3/4 cup water to the sheet. Bake for 40 minutes, or until soft. When it is done, remove the squash from the oven and let cool.picsart_01-10-10-28-161
  • Meanwhile, prepare your shrimp. Place prepared raw shrimp in an oven-safe pan with sides. Drizzle with 1 tsp olive oil, pinch of salt, pepper, garlic, lemon juice, and slab of butter. Roast at 375 for the last 8-10 minutes of the squash’s baking time.picsart_01-10-10-30-011
  • When it’s cooled, shred the squash with forks, being sure to get it all out of the shell. Place the “spaghetti” in a bowl and add the shrimp and cooking juices. Mix together, adding extra olive oil, salt, pepper, and lemon juice to your taste.picsart_01-10-10-31-101picsart_01-10-10-33-151picsart_01-10-10-33-451
  • When you plate the shrimp and squash, add a teaspoon of capers and some bacon crumbles, and drizzle with more olive oil if you’re feeling festive. Shredded Parmesan cheese would also be a welcome addition to this dish!picsart_01-10-10-35-351

That’s really  it! It’s super easy, doesn’t have a lot of ingredients, and is full of delicious flavors the whole family will love. I hope you’ll try it and let me know what you thought of it in the comments!

Until next time,
-Ashley

Leave a Reply

