Ashley Does: It’s Time For An Anti-Aging Routine

I was born in 1984. That makes me (almost) 33.

Guys I’m not old. I’m the first to tell you that 33 years old is not old.

Are we clear there?

Good, because I’m going to tell you something that may shock and appall you.

If you are over the age of 25 – it’s time for an anti-aging routine.

Please don’t throw anything!

I know it sounds harsh. You’re under 30, you don’t need to worry about wrinkles or age spots! But the truth is: you will need to worry about them sooner if you don’t take steps now. I’m not calling you old, girlfriend; I’m helping you keep your youthful glow!

The very best thing you can do for your skin, right after drinking lots of water and eating your veggies, is finding and sticking to a regular skincare routine.

This means washing and moisturizing twice a day, wearing sunscreen all the time, removing makeup before bed, and using a toner. Making sure you take care of your skin as a whole, and not just the skin on your face, will also help with the overall anti-aging appearance of your skin. Pay special attention to your hands, neck, and lips when focusing on anti-aging effects!

AntiAging
Visit http://ashleydoes.po.sh for more information and pricing!

As far as anti-aging specifics go, there are a few tips to keep in mind:

  1. Take Your Vitamins
    OK you don’t have to eat vitamins unless that’s your thing. But definitely make sure your skin care products are taking theirs! Look for Vitamin C, Vitamin E, Omega-3 fatty acids, Polyphenols, and Beta-Carotene. Some of these will come in the form of Avocado Oil, Green Tea Extract, Pumpkin or Kale, and Palm Oils. These vital vitamins help keep skin looking brighter and tighter and decrease the appearance of fine lines and age spots.
  2. Get A Buzz
    Caffeine is so good for your skin! Not only does it help reduce the appearance of cellulite, it also helps tighten loose skin and reduce redness by bringing more blood flow to the surface. It has anti-inflammatory properties to reduce swelling (think about those bags under your eyes!) and when paired with other antioxidants such as green tea it can help neutralize free radicals and improve the texture of your skin.
  3. Get Scrubby
    Gentle exfoliation is a great way to remove dead, dull skin cells to make your skin appear younger and brighter. It helps soften wrinkles, reduce the appearance of age spots, and creates a more receptive surface for moisturizers and toners. The key is not to over-exfoliate. Once or twice a week at most is ideal, and definitely no more than once if you have sensitive skin or are prone to redness. Exfoliation is not just for your face, either! Use a sugar Lip Scrub on your lips a few days a week, a Body Scrub in the shower, and a Snarky Bar on your feet a few days a week for soft, younger looking skin all over!
  4. Moisturize Me
    Moisturizing is the step in your skincare routine that helps your cells regenerate, locks in moisture (duh), and is the cherry on your skincare sundae. Without the finishing step of moisturizer, all of your hard work will go to waste. Do not skip this step, even if you have oily skin! You can find the perfect moisturizer for you (take a look at my recommendations here) through trial and error and I do recommend that you keep going until you find what works! Once you find the sweet spot, it will completely change your skin care game!
  5. When It Comes To Sunscreen, More Isn’t Always More
    When you are choosing a facial sunscreen, look for one that lists Zinc Oxide as a top ingredient, and try to avoid oxybenzone as it has been shown to have harmful side effects. Higher SPF doesn’t necessarily mean a better sunscreen, SPF 30 is generally plenty of protection, especially when you remember to reapply after water exposure! Do not forget your ears when applying sunscreen!!

It’s also important to remember that good skin care doesn’t have to be expensive! You can treat yourself to facials and amazing anti-aging benefits without spending an arm and a leg. All of the products at Perfectly Posh are under $25 and because of the amazing formulations, the products last an incredibly long time.

My personal routine:

  • Mornings: Wash my face with Complexion Perfection. Use a body scrub 3x/week in the shower. I always scrub my feet with a Snarky Bar (currently, my fave is Absolute Passionfruit!). After my shower, I use Impish Eyes on my dark circles, Never Grow Up Serum, and then Moisturize 911. On my body, I rub Hips Don’t Lie into my loose-skin problem areas, then use Good Hydrations or a Body Butter everywhere else. When I am going to be outside, I grab My Hero for my face and a 15 SPF for the rest of my exposed skin.
  • Throughout the day: Sugar lip scrubs, caffeinated lip balms, and Big Fat Yummy Hand Cremes go everywhere with me.
  • Evenings: I wash my face with Complexion Perfection or Gender Bender (I don’t recommend Gender Bender if you have overly dry skin). I mask 5 days a week, alternating on and off masks accordingly. Follow up with Impish Eyes, Never Grow Up Serum, and Never Grow Up Creme. IndiGO Girl is my current go-to before bed moisturizer for my body, since it smells sweet and soothing to me. BONUS: If you have what we affectionately refer to as Gobble Neck, a skin-tightening or anti-inflammatory product would be a great addition to your routine! Try Impish Eyes on that area or even a bit of Moisturize 911 or Hips Don’t Lie Caffeinated Body Creme!

    PTBlogEveningRoutine (1)

I hope this has convinced you that you don’t want to wait until you’re “old” to start your anti-aging routine! Happy pampering!

Want more like this? Join us over at Ashley Does: Pretty Things Lounge on Facebook for tips, deals, and fun!

Leave a Reply

