Ashley Does: Why I Love Being A Girl Mom (Part 2)

Being a #GirlMom has it’s ups and downs, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world! Have you read Part 1 yet? Be sure to take a gander before reading Part 2 today!

What I love about being a girl mom

The Education

I have learned so much by being a girl mom. They have taught me how to be a better girl. My little Eleanor in particular is my fashion guru. She can put together an outfit from any one of our closets and make us look and feel fabulous. She is already better at applying makeup than I am and she is seven and doesn’t have the “real thing” yet. She has taught me that what is expected, the “Standard”, is boring, and having your own sense of self and style is the only way to live. It’s really hard to not feel good about yourself or be full of confidence when Eleanor is around.

#GirlMom Eleanor

Olivia, my oldest, is a constant education in feelings. I’ve always been awkward and found it hard to express myself – which is why I write: edits are much easier this way! – but Olivia can always tell you exactly what she is feeling. She owns her outbursts, her laughter, her anger, her sadness, and her joy. She is empathetic and is always the one helping other people (her sisters, in particular) feel better when they are down. I’m not saying this has made it easy to be her mom, but it has made me more aware of my own feelings and it has definitely been an education in how to help handle the feelings and reactions of others.

#GirlMom Olivia

Caroline, though she is only four, has been an education in tenacity. That kid has taught me how to throw my head back and laugh. She doesn’t sweat the small stuff (the rest of us really do) and when she wants something that is going to make her happy, she goes for it full throttle. There is no holding her back when she is after something she wants and from her I have learned that it is OK to know what makes you happy and to fight for it (even if that means screaming at her parents “But PLEASE means YES!“).

#GirlMom Caroline

They have taught me how to be content with what I have, happy where I am, and to appreciate the littlest things – like a tiny bug crawling on your hand as you lay in the grass on a lazy summer afternoon. Enjoying this beautiful life that we have been given is top priority for my girls and I have loved learning how to enjoy it along with them.

The Relationship They Have With Their Dad

My girls are blessed. They are surrounded by strong men that love them. Their grandfathers and their uncles are fantastic men who lift them up every day and for them I am forever grateful.

The relationship that my girls have with my husband, their Daddy, though, is the one that really touches me every single day.

I am the product of a broken home. My father left when I was fourteen years old and we haven’t had a relationship since. I think, subconsciously, that broken relationship is one of the reasons I was so scared to have girls. I know what it feels like to have your heart broken by the man who is supposed to love you more than anyone on earth. (Side note – I have been tremendously blessed with a man who stepped in and became my Dad several years after my father left. But that is a topic for another post altogether.)

Watching my husband with our daughters, however, has put all of those fears to rest. I love watching them dance, cuddle, learn new things together, and explore the world. Their relationship restored my faith in father-daughter connections, and it is one of the things that brings me the most joy as a girl mom.

#GirlMom Daddy

Even though the prospect of being a girl mom was terrifying at first, there have been so many aspects of this life that have brought me immense joy. I wouldn’t trade any of it for the world!

Until next time,
-Ashley

Are you a #GirlMom? What is your favorite part of this crazy life? Leave your comments below!

Leave a Reply

