Ashley Does: My Favorite Books To Read By The Pool This Summer (So Far!)

Something you may or may not know about me: I am a book nerd.

I was an English Major at The University Of Colorado and have done my share of reading heavy, complex pieces of literature.

Ever since I graduated, I have gravitated toward lighter reading. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some Tess Of The d’Urbervilles and The Bell Jar, but after years and years of analyzing English literature, mama was in need of something a bit less intense!

This summer I am trying to read as much as I can while my girls play in the sprinklers. It’s a way I am taking time to fill my cup and make sure I am taking care of myself so I can take care of all the other things I need to take care of, too!

Without further ado, my favorite poolside reads for this summer!

Favorite Poolside Reads

The Con Man’s Daughter: A Story of Lies, Desperation, and Finding God – Candace Curry

ConMansDaughter

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Candice Curry’s book of redemption and forgiveness. It took me a long time to read it because, while my biological father wasn’t a drug addict or a con man, my relationship with him and my feelings toward him closely mirrored that of Curry and her father.

It was a story that made me feel all the feelings: I laughed, I cried, I had to put it down and collect my thoughts. Some parts were hard to read because they made me evaluate my own path to forgiveness and all the bumps in the road that I’ve come across.

I would recommend this book to anyone who has a strained relationship with a parent or a child or someone who has something BIG to forgive. Curry’s ability to tell her story while explaining how God reached down and turned her heart toward forgiveness and redemption is next to none and will touch your heart.

Finding Someplace – Denise Lewis Patrick

FindingSomeplace

Finding Someplace was recommended to my oldest daughter by my future sister in law who has lived her whole life in New Orleans.When someone who lived through Hurricane Katrina hands you a book and says “read this,” you read it! I wanted to read it myself first, just to be sure it would be OK content for her, and I ended up loving the story!

Ressie Boone is a thirteen-year-old girl when Katrina hits her hometown of New Orleans. This story follows her through the storm and the complicated aftermath. Emotional, funny, and sweet, this story had me captivated from page one.

It was a quick read that explored friendship, puppy love, and family, all through the lens of catastrophe and hope.

The Kitchen Boy: A Novel Of The Last Tsar – Robert Alexander

thekitchenboy

This book far exceeded my expectations. I am not usually one for historic fiction but I am trying to expand my horizons – practice what I preach to my oldest daughter – and when my mom handed me this book and her recommendation, I took it!

The story is told by Misha (Leonka) as he narrates the last few weeks of the Romanov’s lives as he witnessed it. It is set in 1998 as he nears the end of his life, and the narrative is peppered with endearing rabbit trails and intermixed Russian with the English – as you would expect with a long tale told by an elderly grandfather.

The book reads like a thriller. I could not put it down, constantly hurrying to turn the page and see what happened next. It was full of love, heartbreak, and twists, as well as an interesting perspective on that time in Russian history. It was truly interesting, captivating, and entertaining.

Until next time,
-Ashley

What are your must-read books this summer? Let’s help each other find some new titles – post your favorites in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

